4 Comments
May 20, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

We do, indeed, live in interesting times. I was fortunate to have learned, while still a child, that the word "man" often is a collective signifying all people. I was taught that "all men are created equal" meant all of mankind which, in turn, meant all people and when it was used in that sense that was it's meaning. In a room full of women, when someone asked "where are the men" it was understood to refer to those of the male sex. In that context, I can argue that this is all not necessary. On the other hand, if it is truly offensive to women than I have no problem with "First year students" and other changes. If my brother, David, wants to be called David and not Dave, what's the big deal? I don't have an issue with it. I would have an issue with being castigated for not changing a life-long habit in a moment. If some folks want to go beyond asking for this change by then harassing anyone who does not comply in every utterance, I'd say something profound, like "Chill. Changes to language and custom are slow and while you can make an argument for this change, it is not an existential crisis."

These interesting times are driven by demands and confrontation. Come talk to me in a calm manner, trying to convince me to (fill in the blank) and I'm likely to listen. If you're willing to listen to me, too, we can have this thing we used to call discussion. I know, it's a relic of long, long ago, but it's a good way to communicate.

Do I think changing freshman to 1st year student will change anything? No. Do I think showing respect for all students (which means not disrespecting some to show respect for others) is a good idea. Sure.

About that "all men are created equal" thing, I offer this. We are created equal, but that does not mean we are the same.

Expand full comment
May 20, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

I think freshman (etc.) is a non-generic term, just like when I say "you guys" and it is a room full of girls... I was never offended - I think there are bigger issues to focus on...like Josh said - created equal but not always treated equal.

Expand full comment

This is absurd. What is wrong with these people?

Expand full comment

I just saw this on a local community board; "In need of a handyman/woman to assemble an IKEA daybed next week"

Expand full comment