26 Comments
May 7, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

I'm already either breaking a window or using heavy objects to breach a wall. Being told under coercion what my only options are just doesn't work for me.

Expand full comment
May 8, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

I think we all have some of that in us. I also don't lije being blamed for something I didn't do. If that happens, I think it gives me license to go do it.

Expand full comment
May 6, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

Question to the guard (doesn't matter which one): Assuming your life depends on me getting out of here alive, meaning you will live or die based on what door I use, which one do you want me to use?

Expand full comment
May 5, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

I look for the guards and take one of the other doors in the picture.

Expand full comment
author

Lol!! Geez, I can’t win here. I should have drawn a stick figure photo of the actual scenario for you.

Expand full comment
May 5, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

I'd need to take time for a more serious answer. Think Kobayashi Maru.

Expand full comment
May 7, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

Nothing a good fire-alarm-automatic-sprinkler event couldn't cure, for that matter. I doubt those guards have any stake in outcomes or get paid much for such a stupid job, so I figure they skedaddle at the first sign of trouble, and besides, at least one of them is probably either a fired or retired copper who doesn't want to be on-scene playing rent-a-cop when the real guys show up. Hint: always carry a lighter whether you smoke or not. This human struggle against nature began to tip in our favor with the taming of fire, and we should not abandon the skill.

Expand full comment
May 7, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

Well said: the idea of changing the rules to beat the game has served me well for many years, since even before I saw that particular Star Trek. Just as an aside, I have been watching 'A Touch of Frost' lately; in his utterly English way Jack Frost is the detective-inspector version of a James Kirk, a shamelessly unofficious neglecter of paperwork and rule breaker who relies on instinct and never forgets that his job is about human beings.

Expand full comment
May 7, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

Thanks, I'll look for Frost.

Expand full comment
May 7, 2021Liked by Clayton Craddock

For once, it looks as though somebody has posted the entire series at an okay resolution (480) on Youtube, and even organized them sequentially. David Janson's high-strung and semi-abusive DI with a heart of a puppy in need of a home is an acquired taste the first few episodes, but as a fan of British crime drama from way back I would say this is among the best ever, plus we see a handful of future notables like Michael Kitchen of Foyle's War and Damian Lewis from Band of Brothers make guest appearances at much earlier ages during the late 90s. Good show, jolly, jolly good show, and all....

Expand full comment

Thanks, I found it on Amazon Prime to which we already subscribe and we'll give it a shot.

Expand full comment